What type of exercise I do

Since yesterday I covered what I eat, today I’d like to tackle what type of exercise I do. I didn’t do a lot of exercising to lose weight. I lost weight then I got serious about exercising. Read about that here: Run to loose weight

I don’t have a gym membership. I am lucky enough to have about half of a garage to dedicate to working out. If I had more space, I would have more equipment, but I don’t so I make due. With just a bench (that inclines up to 90 degrees), a set up dumbbells up to 50 pounds, and a pull up/dip station I can do the following exercises:

Chest – flat bench / incline bench / various pushups / dumbbell fly’s / dumbbell crossovers

Back – pullups / reverse dumbbell fly’s / bent over rows / upright rows

Shoulders – military press / shrugs / various arm extensions

Biceps – curls / preacher curls etc.

Triceps – dips / triceps extensions

Legs – dumbbell squats / lunges

I lift weights in the garage at least twice a week and usually I alternate between 2 different ‘days’. Chest, shoulders, and biceps on the 1st day and back, triceps, and core on the other. I mix in legs as I can but don’t focus too much on legs since I don’t want to be too sore on my runs /rides.

I do trail running and cycling during the weekend, usually one day of each. My trail runs are anywhere between 3 and 6 miles. My mountain biking is typically 15 and 20 miles. My road biking is 20 miles plus. I always start very early so I miss as little family time as possible. I have headlights for my bike and for running, so as long as it isn’t too cold, I am out before sunrise. During the work week I ride my bike on the stationary trainer if the weather is bad, or if its nice I do 1 or 2 quick 15 mile rides before work.

This might sound like a lot but I worked up to this level of exercise and I’ve come to rely on the challenge. Not only does all this working out help with my fitness, but it burns off the work and family stress too! I enter 2 or 3 races/events per year, either running or mountain biking. I enjoy the atmosphere of events, it is almost like a party with a race attached to it!

I’ve said it before and I will say it again, don’t try to go crazy with exercise in an attempt to lose weight. If you are anything like me, eliminating the sugar and carbs will allow the weight to drop off very quickly. Once its gone, then it is much easier to get out there and hit the trails!

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

