I could never do that, I like carbs too much

When I tell people that I haven’t eaten a sandwich, a cookie, bread, pasta, or candy for over a year I am met with envy and disbelief. Folks either assume that I am lying or I like to torture myself. I can’t count the number of times that I’ve been told by someone that they wouldn’t be able to give up sugar/ carbs. If I had a nickel…

The truth is that I honestly don’t miss it. However I can understand why people struggle to believe that. If I didn’t experience it for myself, I would not have believed that the cravings go away. During the 1st month or so, I missed carbs, mainly pizza and sandwiches. What kept me going was the weight coming off so quickly. I didn’t feel hungry and I was loosing weight – things were going too well to risk messing it up.

After a while, I realized that my house was full of sugar and carbs, but I hadn’t really noticed. I have 2 young kids so candy, cereal, pop tarts, bread, bagels, juice is just a fact of life for me. These items no longer had the ‘pull’ that they used to.

The best way I can describe it, is to draw a comparison with smoking. I smoked a little in high school and college but I quit shortly after college. When I see cigarettes now, I recognize how I once enjoyed smoking them, I recognize how other people enjoy smoking them, but there is no pull – no attraction. Sugar is the same, once it is out of your body for a while, you don’t miss it.

But, don’t take my word for it…. try it for yourself and get ready to be surprised!

Leave a Reply

